About TASC

Our Mission

To support safe research today delivering better treatments tomorrow therefore improving the health of future generations

The Tayside Medical Science Centre was formally established on 1st January 2010. The Centre combines the research strengths of the University of Dundee with NHS Tayside and is part of the eastern nodes of Health Science Scotland and NHS Research Scotland. Leadership of TASC is provided by the Dean of Medicine, Professor Andrew Morris. Operational responsibility of TASC is provided by the Joint Research & Development Director Professor Jill Belch. She works closely with the Senior Research & Development Manager of TASC Dr Keith Gillon.

TASC brings together, within a single organisational framework, the existing functions of the Clinical Research Centre, the Tayside Clinical Trials Unit, the Tissue Bank, and the joint functions of the NHS Research & Development office and the University's Research & Innovation Services (in relation to clinical research). This strategic alignment brings greater efficiency to research management and governance across the University and NHS.

The key aim of TASC is to make research easier for all health professionals and to promote a stronger culture of research within the NHS. The TASC offices are housed within refurbished accommodation on level 3 of the old Nursing School premises on the Ninewells site, co-located with the East of Scotland Ethics Service.

Although the venture is initially a joint enterprise between the University of Dundee and NHS Tayside, it is anticipated that NHS Fife and the University of St Andrews will, at an early stage, become partners within the Academic Health Sciences Centre.

The development of TASC coincided with the excellent news that one of its components, the Tayside Clinical Trials Unit, was awarded provisional registration by the UK Clinical Research Collaboration. This helped ensure that TASC was well positioned from the outset to achieve its goals. In August 2012, the TCTU was given full registration, one of 45 fully registered units in the UK.